An Interview Awaits

Lifeguarding can often be quite predictable and dull, so when another lifeguard decided to bring his husky puppy to work during a slow, coldish day, you bet we chased that little guy around the pool deck for an hour straight. After the pup tired out, I grabbed him and forced my phone into a friend’s hand, demanding he take dozens of pictures of me and the antsy puppy. As my friend snapped essentially the same picture multiple times, he told me an email from the Peace Corps flashed across my phone screen. With the dog in one arm, I excitedly snatched the phone from my friend’s hand and read the email aloud:

Dear Abbie,

Thank you for your interest in the Peace Corps. I have reviewed your application and would like to arrange an interview with you for the Health Extension Volunteer position in EcuadorPrior to the interview, please review the position description…

My interview will be via Skype in about two weeks, so I’ll have some time to prepare. I started my application process at the very beginning of June, and I’m glad to see how quickly it seems to be moving. I’ve read many-a-horror-story about dreadfully long applications, and so far it seems like I haven’t had that issue. Something tells me this promptness has to do with the new (MUCH shorter) Peace Corps application process. Here is a short, yet perfect video to help you visualize what I’ve done to apply thus far:

While I’m still somewhat far from finding out whether I’m in or not, I’m nonetheless trying my best to promote the Peace Corps Third Goal, which advocates for “a better understanding of other peoples on the part of Americans.” I know I’m not a bonafide Peace Corps Volunteer yet, but hopefully I will be, and I want this blog to record every aspect of my Peace Corps journey, from submission of application to Close of Service. I not only want to promote my country of service, but I want this blog to be a direct conduit between me and my readers back home.

Here is one more video that I have to share. It’s the 2015 Ecuador Super Bowl ad. Enjoy!

One thought on “An Interview Awaits

  1. Wow, marvelous blog layout! How long have you been blogging for?
    you made blogging look easy. The overall look of your site is wonderful, as well as the
    content!

    Like

Leave a Reply

